‘Firefox Send’ for File Sharing: Why Should You Use It?

0
Firefox Send

Firefox Send is a free service launched by Mozilla recently to facilitate sharing of files (up to 2.5 GB) with end-to-end encryption over the Internet.

Normally, you would upload a file to Google Drive or Dropbox and share the link to make the file accessible to someone over the Internet.

However, in that case, you need to sign up for an account to use for Google Drive or Dropbox. Moreover, the file uploaded gets stored in your account, unless you manually delete it.

Firefox Send

In this article, I want to mention a few points where Firefox Send seems to be a better alternative and a good service.

Signing Up is not compulsory

You do not need to necessarily create an account in order to upload/share files. You can remain completely anonymous while keeping your file sharing activity private.

Yes, you may choose to sign up or sign in to increase the upload file size limit (up to 2.5 GB) and to unlock a few more functionalities. So, you’ve got a choice.

If you sign up for the service, you get the following benefits:

Firefox Send Sign Up

So, in a nutshell, you get more file size limit along with the ability to manage your shared files or keep the link active for up to 7 days.

Mozilla’s Firefox Send is on GitHub

Firefox Send Github

As you would expect, you can easily take a look at the source code of Firefox Send on GitHub – to audit the service (if you want) and also contribute to its development.

If you have no idea what GitHub is – don’t worry, let me tell you:

GitHub is a development platform for developers to host and manage the source code of their software tools.

If the source code is available on GitHub, you can review it to make sure that it isn’t something fishy and does what you expect. In either case, you can help them build it as well.

Firefox Send is available for Android (Beta)

Firefox Send is available to download at the Play Store – although it is not the stable release yet.

If you want to experiment using the service with the beta version of the application – you can check it out here:

There’s no official word on the availability of an iOS app, we will keep you posted if that happens.

Link Expiry, Limit Downloads & Password Protection

When you sign up / sign in, you get the ability to set the link to expire after a certain interval of time. For example – after 7 days or 5 minutes.

This makes sure that no one else gets to access your files after you have successfully share it with your trusted contact.

You can also limit the number of downloads to up to 100 times for the file you want to share.

In addition to this, you can also set a password so that only the one who knows the password is able to download your file.

You can also check out the official video to learn more about it:

Wrapping Up

These are some subtle things that you need to take note of in order to share your private files securely over the Internet.

Of course, the file you upload gets stored somewhere for a specified time before it gets destroyed. But, it is way more secure – and a hassle-free way to share files to your friends or co-workers when compared to sharing a file on Google Drive.

What do you think about it? Let me know in the comments section below.

Also Read:

Leave a Reply

avatar

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  Subscribe  
Notify of